Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band - The Dust Blows Forward (1999)

mijn stem
4,55 (11)
11 stemmen

Verenigde Staten
Label: Rhino

  1. Diddy Wah Diddy
  2. Frying Pan
  3. Electricity
  4. Abba Zaba
  5. Beatle Bones 'n Smokin' Stones
  6. Safe as Milk
  7. Moonlight on Vermont
  8. Ella Guru
  9. Old Fart at Play
  10. Sugar 'n Spikes
  11. Orange Claw Hammer
  12. My Human Gets Me Blues
  13. China Pig
  14. Lick My Decals Off, Baby
  15. Woe-is-uh-me-bop
  16. I Wanna Find a Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have to Go
  17. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or the Big Dig)
  18. I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby
  19. Click Clack
  20. Grow Fins
  21. When It Blows Its Stacks
  22. Little Scratch
  23. Big Eyed Beans from Venus
  24. Golden Birdies
  25. Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man
  26. Low Yo Yo Stuff
  27. Too Much Time
  28. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
  29. Clear Spot
  30. Upon the My-o-my
  31. Party of Special Things to Do
  32. Sam with the Showing Scalp Top

    met Frank Zappa

  33. Debra Kadabra

    met Frank Zappa

  34. Hard Workin' Man (Main Title)
  35. Bat Chain Puller
  36. The Floppy Boot Stomp
  37. Tropical Hot Dog Night
  38. Owed T' Alex
  39. Hot Head
  40. Ashtray Heart
  41. Sue Egypt
  42. Making Love to a Vampire with a Monkey on My Knee
  43. Ice Cream for Crow
  44. The Past Sure Is Tense
  45. Light Reflected Off the Oceands of the Moon
zoeken in:
avatar van Maartenn
Maartenn (crew)
Hier ben ik erg benieuwd naar. Kan iemand mij meer over dit album vertellen?

Maartenn schreef:
Hier ben ik erg benieuwd naar. Kan iemand mij meer over dit album vertellen?

Ik persoonlijk niet, maar wel:

Leaving alone the obvious condition that Captain Beefheart's numerous experimental albums aren't as prime for a best-of treatment as the discographies of most artists are, this is a pretty good overview of career highlights. The two CDs span his 1966 "Diddy Wah Diddy" single to his final album (1982's Ice Cream for Crow), each disc weighing in at about 75 minutes. With so much material to draw from (not even counting that mammoth five-CD box set of unreleased stuff), there will be inevitable disagreements among fans as to which songs were selected; there are seven from Clear Spot, for instance, but only two from Safe as Milk. Every period is sampled, however, and his weakest albums (Unconditionally Guaranteed and Bluejeans & Moonbeams) are judiciously represented by just one cut each. A few rarities do crop up, including a quite good and bluesy previously unreleased Clear Spot outtake ("Little Scratch"), "Hard Workin' Man" (from the soundtrack to Blue Collar), and the 1982 instrumental B-side "Light Reflected off the Oceands [sic] of the Moon." There are also little detours from Beefheart's albums for two tracks from 1966 singles and two collaborations with Frank Zappa from Zappa's Bongo Fury. It's not for the collector, but it's a decent package for someone who wants to get familiar with the Captain or doesn't need more than a few of his regular albums. Comprehensive notes in a 60-page booklet offer a good straightforward cruise through his oft-confusing history and shifting Magic Band personnel.

Met een beetje moeite zul je wat nummers wel op Youtube kunnen vinden.
Hier is in elk geval al het fantastische Hard Working Man

avatar van Stalin
Maartenn schreef:
Hier ben ik erg benieuwd naar. Kan iemand mij meer over dit album vertellen?

Het is alweer meer dan 2 jaar geleden, heb je nog wat gedaan met mijn hierboven gemelde info ?

avatar van Maartenn
Maartenn (crew)

geplaatst: vandaag om 01:33 uur

geplaatst: vandaag om 01:33 uur

Let op: In verband met copyright is het op niet toegestaan om de inhoud van externe websites over te nemen, ook niet met bronvermelding. Je mag natuurlijk wel een link naar een externe pagina plaatsen, samen met je eigen beschrijving of eventueel de eerste alinea van de tekst. Je krijgt deze waarschuwing omdat het er op lijkt dat je een lange tekst hebt geplakt in je bericht.

* denotes required fields.

Let op! Je gebruikersnaam is voor iedereen zichtbaar, en kun je later niet meer aanpassen.

* denotes required fields.